Truth Commission

On November 18, 2011, President Dilma Rousseff signed Law 12.528 creating a National Truth Commission. The commission consists of seven members appointed by the president and will have two years to conduct its investigation into human rights crimes committed in Brazil between 1945 and 1988 (a period considerably longer than the actual dictatorship, the result of a compromise between the Lula administration and the heads of the three branches of the Brazilian armed forces). Along with Law 12.528, Dilma also signed a Freedom of Information law providing a framework for opening dictatorship-era security archives.

At the same time (and even preceding the inauguration of the national truth commission), several Brazilian states have created or are in the processing of creating their own state truth commissions. São Paulo, for example, officially installed its Rubens Paiva State Truth Commission on May 1, 2012 to investigate crimes committed in the state between 1964 and 1982. Private entities have also formed commissions to participate in the process, such as the Organization of Brazilian Attorneys and the Surui indian tribe. The National Truth Commission has declared that it will coordinate its actions with the other commissions and will even lend its legal powers to those entities when appropriate.

Some related posts:

First State Truth Commission Installed in São Paulo

National Truth Commission Establishes Parameters with Other Commissions

Veja Reports on Exchange between Military Officials and National Truth Commission

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s